LOITERING PEOPLE ON 17ST BTW 8 AND 9AV "24/7"

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LOITERING PEOPLE ON 17ST BTW 8 AND 9AV "24/7"

Does anybody know if those people (low income housing kids i believe) hanging out on 17th St btw 8/9av live here..? I just moved in and didn’t know about that.. last night my mother visited me and she said they were smoking weed right on the sidewalk… she had to walk on the street because they blocked the way. thank you. julia.

Re: LOITERING PEOPLE ON 17ST BTW 8 AND 9AV "24/7"

is it the school?

Comment

no,, the school kids are nice.. they are "in school" im talking about these 18-20yo guys hanguing out on the steps every single day..they dont do anything.

Comment

Hi Julia,

Just to respond to your query: I've done some research in this area (I am a resident for 6 years and a social worker) kids on the block vary: Covenant House is on the corner and provides housing for runaway teens and young adults aging out of foster care; the projects down the block apparently are so unsafe for the teens who live there (this is what they have reported to me) that they prefer to stoop sit whenever they can, anywhere they can; there are four high schools in a four block radius and the kids often hang out here to delay returning home -- with many special ed young adults. Here's a tip for interacting with them: be straightforward and respectful and they will usually move along in a few minutes. Calling the police sometimes helps, if it is very late.

Comment

Julia,

I think frankm's insight and advice for interacting with these kids are valuable. Let me add it doesn't sound like they are being monitored very well by their parents or guardians which probably indicates family dysfunctions.